24HourNation
Subscribe to Us

We won’t sell or give your information to anyone. We prefer to keep you to ourselves.

Here’s our privacy policy to prove it.

Climate Change After Dark

Register for Climate Change After Dark

During our free and live webinar, gain knowledge that will help you lead rather than react

“Night-time literacy programs for scientists and officials are urgently needed. These should deliver better night policy, from zoning to wages, transport and nature-based solutions. Night-time assessments beyond the entertainment sector should be expected when mayors promote action on global issues such as climate, resilience, or migration.” — We need a science of the night [PDF] by Michele Acuto

“Temperature has been found to affect income via agricultural yields, the physical and cognitive performance of workers, demand for energy, as well as the incidence of crime, unrest, and conflict.” — The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

“Extreme summer nights are warming nearly twice as fast as extreme summer days.” — Climate Central

“We need a science of the night. Understanding what happens in cities after sunset is crucial to global sustainable development.” — Nature

While we are already seeing governments and daytime businesses adapting to climate change, most of the world’s nighttime economies have yet to embrace the environmental impacts that are already here—much less the ones that are on the horizon. Join us as we host Climate Change After Dark, a one-hour webinar with nighttime economy experts in the fields of urban planning, economics, and policy.

WEBINAR
Climate Change After Dark

DATE AND TIME
Monday, March 4, 2024 — 12 p.m. PST | 1 p.m. MST | 2 p.m. CST | 3 p.m. EST | 8 p.m. GMT | 21h CET
Tuesday, March 5, 2024 — 7 a.m. AEDT

REGISTER NOW

PANELIST
Michele Acuto, Australia
Associate Dean (Research) and Professor of Global Urban Politics and Director, Melbourne Centre for CitiesThe University of Melbourne

Michele Acuto is an expert in urban governance and international affairs. Michele is also the author of several articles, publications, and policy documents on urban governance, international politics, and urban development challenges.
PANELIST-PROVIDED BIO

PANELIST
Andreina Seijas, France
Associate – Urban Activation Strategist for Europe, the Middle East and Africa – Gehl
Principal – Night Tank

Andreina Seijas is a researcher and international consultant in urban development and policy in Latin America, Europe, and the United States. Through her doctoral studies at the Harvard Graduate School of Design she specialized in nighttime governance and planning.
PANELIST-PROVIDED BIO

PANELIST
Alessio Kolioulis, PhD, United Kingdom
Co-Programme Leader – MSc Urban Economic Development and Lecturer (Teaching) – Urban Economic Development – The Bartlett Development Planning Unit (DPU), University College London
Co-Investigator – FairVille Project Horizon Europe

Alessio Kolioulis holds a Joint PhD in Art and Technology and Urban Planning. With a background in development economics, Alessio has written on the electronic music industry, analyzed nighttime economies and night work, and investigated the links between creative industries, urban space, and techno cultures.
PANELIST-PROVIDED BIO

HOST
Randall White, United States
Founder – 24HourNation
United States

Randall White is an award-winning community leader and former consultant in public affairs, communications, and non-profit management. In May 2022, White launched 24HourNation, which disseminates news and information for global advocates and allies of our nighttime and cultural economies.

WORLD VIEWS

“Climate risk is business risk.” — Moody’s

“Climate change affects everything from geopolitics to economies to migration. It shapes cities, life expectancies and wine lists.” — The Economist

“Climate change refers to significant changes in global temperature, precipitation, wind patterns and other measures of climate that occur over several decades or longer. The seas are rising. The foods we eat and take for granted are threatened. Ocean acidification is increasing. Ecosystems are changing, and for some, that could spell the end of certain regions the way we have known them. And while some species are adapting, for others, it’s not that easy. Evidence suggests many of these extreme climate changes are connected to rising levels of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in the Earth’s atmosphere — more often than not, the result of human activities.” — University of California, Davis

“While climate change is making our days hotter, the fingerprints of climate change are even clearer for nighttime temperatures than for daytime temperatures. Nights are warming more and faster than days, which is concerning because warm nights deprive our bodies and minds of the chance to cool off, and that has consequences for our health.” — Union of Concerned Scientists

“The health impacts of climate warming are usually quantified based on daily average temperatures. However, extra health risks might result from hot nights. We project the future mortality burden due to hot nights.” — The Lancet Planetary Health

Share With:
Rate This Article